Hortonworks Certified Associate

The Hortonworks Certified Associate (HCA) certification provides for individuals an entry point and validates the fundamental skills required to progress to the higher levels of the Hortonworks certification program. An HCA understands the technologies and can recognize business use cases for the many frameworks in the Hortonworks Data Platform (HDP). Hadoop is an open source distributed processing framework that manages data processing and storage for big data applications running in clustered systems.                                                                                                                                   Key Features
  • FAST
  • Overview

    This course is designed for developers who need to create applications to analyze Big Data stored in Apache Hadoop using Spark. Topics include: Hadoop, YARN, HDFS, using Spark for interactive data exploration, building and deploying Spark applications, optimization of applications, creating Spark
    pipelines with multiple libraries, working with different filetypes, building data frames, exploring the Spark SQL API, using Spark Streaming and an introduction to Spark MLlib.

  • Hands-On Labs

    Using Hadoop and MapReduce
    • Using HBase
    • Importing Data from MySQL to HBase
    • Using Apache ZooKeeper
    • Examining Configuration Files
    • Using Backup and Snapshot
    • HBase Shell Operations
    • Creating Tables with Multiple Column Families
    • Exploring HBase Schema
    • Blocksize and Bloom filters
    • Exporting Data
    • Using a Java Data Access Object Application to
    Interact with HBase

  • Prerequisites

    Students must have a basic familiarity with data management systems. Familiarity with Hadoop or databases is helpful but not required. Students new to Hadoop are encouraged to attend theHDP Overview: Apache Hadoop Essentials course.

  • Certification

    Hortonworks offers a comprehensive certification program that identifies you as an expert in Apache Hadoop. Visit www.cossindia.net for more information.

  • Exam Description

    The exam has five main categories of tasks that involve:
    • Installation
    • Configuration
    • Troubleshooting
    • High Availability
    • Security

  • Exam Objectives

    View the complete list of objectives below, which includes links to the corresponding documentation and/or other resources.